Conservation Authorities Act

The Conservation Authorities Act was passed in Ontario in 1946 and governs all 36 conservation authorities in Ontario. The full legislation is available online by the Government of Ontario. The Act has been amended many times since 1946, but still retains the original key themes:

  1. A Conservation Authority must be a local initiative established at the request of a watershed’s municipalities.
  2. Each Conservation Authority operates independently in a co-operative, cost sharing partnership between member municipalities and the Province of Ontario.
  3. Each Conservation Authority must have jurisdiction over one or more watersheds and the ability to enforce regulations in order to ensure a complete and rational approach to issues such as flood control and erosion.

The Conservation Authorities Act is suplemented by additional legislation such as the Conservation Areas Act and the Ontario Building Code.